Good afternoon my lovelies.  Today I’m on thrilled to be on the blog tour for A Letter from Pearl Harbour by the brilliant Anna Stuart.  This wonderful, yet heartbreaking story is beautifully written and will keep you turning the pages…..

about the book

Title: A Letter from Pearl Harbour
Author: Anna Stuart
Genre: Historical Fiction
Series/Standalone: Standalone
Estimated page count: 312
Formats available: Paperback, Audiobook and eBook
Publisher: Bookouture (5 Nov. 2021)
Rating: 
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Tour organised by: Bookouture

Ninety-eight-year-old Ginny McAllister’s last wish is for her granddaughter to complete a treasure hunt containing clues to her past. Clues that reveal her life as one of the first female pilots at Pearl Harbor, and a devastating World War Two secret.

1941, Pearl Harbor: On the morning of December 7th, Ginny is flying her little yellow plane above the sparkling seas when she spots an unknown aircraft closing in on her. She recognises the red symbol of the Japanese fighter planes almost too late. Somehow, she manages to land unscathed but the choices she is forced to make in the terrible hours that follow have tragic consequences…

2019, Pearl Harbor: Heartbroken Robyn Harris is reeling from the death of the strong, determined grandmother who raised her. Her only comfort is a letter written in Ginny’s distinctive hand which details a treasure hunt, just like the ones she used to set for her as a little girl. Except this time, the clues are scattered across the beautiful island of Hawaii. Despite her grief, Robyn finds herself intrigued as she follows the trail of letters, revealing the truth about Ginny’s service during the Second World War.

But Robyn’s whole world is turned upside down when she’s faced with a shocking secret which has the power to change the course of her own life…

Inspired by true events, this is a heartbreaking and unforgettable WW2 novel about love, loss and bravery. Perfect for fans of The Alice Network, The Nightingale and Kathryn Hughes.

Purchase links: Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~ Apple ~ Kobo ~ Google

Audiobook: Audible UK ~ Audible US

Listen to a sample here.

my thoughts

Robyn flies back to the UK from Hawaii to visit her precious grandmother on her deathbed.  Granny Ginny has been holding on to see her, having been the main woman in Robyn’s life with her parents away working.  But that’s not the only reason – she’s set Robyn and her sister, Ashleigh one final treasure hunt….one that will reveal a dark secret from Ginny’s past.  Surprisingly the treasure hunt is in Hawaii so after the funeral the sisters set off there to solve it.  What unravels is an intriguing and riveting story of Granny Ginny’s past and her life and service on the island, as well as the revelation of the secret she was so ashamed of, she couldn’t confess to their faces. But with a tricky relationship between the sisters, will they be able to work with each other one final time to fulfil their Granny’s dying wish? And will they want to know the secret that will be revealed?

I’ve loved previous books of Anna’s so I was looking forward to this and was blown away. Told through a dual timeline, we have the present day, a letter from Ginny and then we’re transported back to the 40’s along with Ginny. I love the mix of history and a riveting story, and instead of being set in Europe, Hawaii was a new and interesting place.  The tragic and unexpected events at Pearl Harbour are beautifully, but heartbreakingly covered by Anna and you will shed a tear or two.  It must have been horrific to experience, and Anna really brings this to life and puts you in the thick of it.  It was fascinating to read about how women pilots may have been treated in America at the time of WWII and how this was different in Britain.  The women are battling to be able to serve their country in a meaningful way and this comes across so well, and will get you contemplating what it must have been like for them.

The characters are fantastic.  I loved Granny Ginny and although younger Ginny makes some terrible decisions, I couldn’t help by love her.  Lili is a wonderful character and I really warmed to all the characters in the 40s.  Robyn and Ashleigh have a strained relationship and it was heartwarming to watch the work together throughout.  Ashleigh is a pretty grumpy to start with but she has every reason to be….

Anna covers quite a lot around a physical disability in this and its really thought-provoking – how one mistake can cause such life changing events and the person has to try and manage not only the physical changes, but the psychological changes too.

Again, as will Anna’s previous books, the writing is truly engaging.  I love a dual timeline, and I love how we got to read part of Granny Ginny’s letter before moving on to be in the 40’s with her.  I felt like I was transported all over the place and it was thrilling.  I just wanted to keep turning the pages to see what would unravel next.  And I absolutely loved the treasure hunt!

So without me going on forever, this is a fantastic book! If you’re looking for a brilliant historical fiction novel set in WWII with fantastic female characters that will break, yet warm your heart and really get you thinking then this is for you.  Highly recommended by me.

about the author

Anna Stuart lives in Derbyshire with her campervan-mad husband, two hungry teenagers and a slightly loopy dog. She was hooked on books from the moment she first opened one in her cot so is thrilled to now have several of her own to her name. Having studied English literature at Cambridge university, she took an enjoyable temporary trip into the ‘real world’ as a factory planner, before returning to her first love and becoming an author. History has also always fascinated her. Living in an old house with a stone fireplace, she often wonders who sat around it before her and is intrigued by how actively the past is woven into the present, something she likes to explore in her novels. Anna loves the way that writing lets her ‘try on’ so many different lives, but her favourite part of the job is undoubtedly hearing from readers. You can reach her on Facebook @annastuartauthor or Twitter @annastuartbooks.

follow the tour

Thanks to Sarah for inviting me on to the tour, and to Anna, Bookouture and NetGalley for my copy of the book. All views and opinions are my own.

Have a fabulous Sunday my lovelies

Chelle x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *