Morning! Another Monday and another week closer to Christmas!  Today I’ve got a couple of posts for you, starting with an extract on the blog tour of Mystery at the Old Mill by Clare Chase.   Here’s everything you need to know about the book first…..

about mystery at the old mill

When the calm of Saxford St Peter is disrupted by a deadly fire at the Old Mill, amateur sleuth Eve Mallow finds herself investigating a most surprising mystery!

Everyone in Saxford St Peter is desperate to know more about Harry Tennant, the newcomer who owns the Old Mill. He usually keeps himself to himself, but he’s finally invited the villagers round for drinks, and Eve Mallow isn’t the only one looking forward to having some questions answered.

But two days before the party, a terrible fire sweeps through the mill, and Harry is found dead. When Eve passes the burned remains of his beautiful house, she can’t resist the call to investigate. Especially when it turns out quiet, charming Harry was living a double life as the famous advice writer Pippa Longford. Eve has to wonder what revelations were contained in the letters he received… and whether one of them was worth killing for.

Accompanied by her reliable dachshund sidekick Gus, Eve starts digging. She soon realises Harry was at the centre of a web of lives – and lies. There’s an uncle desperate to inherit, two women who thought they were his one and only, not to mention everyone who shared their darkest secrets with him. Was one of those strangers much closer to home than Harry knew? And can Eve untangle the truth before she finds herself face to face with a killer?

A completely charming page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Betty Rowlands.

Published by: Bookouture on 7th December 2020

Formats available: Paperback, audiobook and eBook.  Available on Kindle Unlimited

Purchase links: Amazon UK ~ Amazon US

extract

Prologue 
Thursday 2 January 
The Old Mill stood on the raised bank that bordered the River Sax, on the opposite side to the village of Saxford St Peter. The large building looked threatening against the night sky. It had been converted into an upmarket residence years earlier, but its huge sails remained.
It was 2.30 a.m., and there was no visible moon. Thick, dark cloud cloaked the sky and snow was forecast. It was the perfect night for murder. Any footprints would soon be hidden by a white blanket.
The mill was overlooked by just one building: a large house which stood on the opposite side of the ink-black water. Most of it was hidden behind dense leylandii, but part of the driveway was just visible. The car that normally sat outside the garage was missing. Upstairs, the windows were blank, their curtains half-drawn, as though to fool burglars. A light had snapped off fifteen minutes earlier, but it had done the same the night before, at exactly the same time. Everyone knew the owners were away for a few days; news travelled fast in Saxford St Peter.
There was no outward sign that the mill was under attack. Not yet. But inside, the start of a catastrophic event was already unfolding…

about clare chase

Clare Chase writes women sleuth mysteries. After graduating from London University with a degree in English Literature, Clare moved to Cambridge and has lived there ever since. She’s fascinated by the city’s contrasts and contradictions, which feed into her writing. She’s worked in diverse settings – from the 800-year-old University to one of the local prisons – and lived everywhere from the house of a Lord to a slug-infested flat. The terrace she now occupies, with her husband and teenage children, presents a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.

You can find Clare’s website and blog at www.clarechase.com

Where to find Clare online: Twitter ~ Goodreads ~ Facebook

follow the tour

Thanks to Noelle for inviting me on to the tour, and to Clare and Bookouture for sharing an extract with us.

Back soon my lovelies!

Chelle x

Please note this post contains Amazon affiliate links.  If you choose to purchase this book through these link, I will receive a small payment (at no additional cost to you).  This is the only form of monetisation on my blog so every little helps and is appreciated.

One Reply to “Blog Tour & Extract: Mystery at the Old Mill by Clare Chase @ClareChase_ @Bookouture”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *