Happy July!!  I’m absolutely delighted to be one of the first stops on the blog tour for A Summer Escape and Strawberry Cake at the Cosy Kettle by Liz Eeles which on PUBLICATION DAY!  I absolutely fell in love with this book – another gorgeous, funny, feel good tale of betrayal, heartbreak, friendship, love and new beginnings from this author…..the PERFECT summer read!

the blurb

The Cosy Kettle café is the perfect place to escape this summer, for fans of Cathy Bramley, Jenny Colgan and Debbie Johnson. Guests can tuck in to fruit puddings and strawberry-studded ice cream, but for Flora, the warm summer breeze is blowing in big changes…

When Flora finds out about her husband’s secret fling, she escapes to the one place she feels safe: her beloved café, The Cosy Kettle, in the charming village of Honeyford. Serving up cream teas to her café regulars is the perfect way to soothe her broken heart, and although she’s never lived in the area, the little community welcome her with open arms.

She’s soon lodging with local eccentric Luna in her remote and beautiful Starlight Cottage, snuggled between rolling green hills. Luna’s handsome son Daniel lost his wife several years ago, and as Flora gets to know him, sharing walks through the blossom-scented woods, they both slowly begin to heal… and she realises that behind Daniel’s quiet exterior, there’s a passionate nature that makes her forget all about her ex-husband.

As she settles into her new life, hosting a baking competition for the village’s summer celebration seems like a great idea… but with Daniel’s mysterious silences leading Flora to believe he’s hiding secrets, she can’t help but wonder if she can really trust him. And when the race to bake the perfect Victoria sponge stirs up old rivalries between locals, Flora starts to feel like she’s bitten off more than she can chew.

After her new start, will Flora ever truly belong in Honeyford? And, this summer, can she risk opening up her heart again? 

Where to buy: Amazon ~ Apple Books ~ Kobo ~ Googleplay

my review

I absolutely loved the last book by Liz Eeles – New Starts and Cherry Tarts at the Cosy Kettle and have been eagerly awaiting the second book in the series.  This is bloody fantastic!!

In this book we’re with Flora, who had recently opened a book shop and cafe in the little village of Honeyford (read all about it in Book One).  She finishes work early one day and goes home….to find her Husband in a compromising position with one of his waitresses.  Heartbroken and betrayed she resorts to staying in the little attic above her bookshop. But then the strange and rather eccentric Luna sweeps into the bookshop one afternoon, reads her aura and offers her a place to stay.

She moves in so she can start healing and start figuring out what she wants to do.  But her Husband is constantly on her case trying to get her back and not giving her any space.  On top of that Luna’s son Daniel and grandson Caleb, also live in the cottage.  And although they don’t get off to best start, eventually they strike up a somewhat strained friendship….

All Flora wants to do is feel like she belongs in the village and so agrees to take part in the community celebrations that everyone is raving about.  But has she taken on too much? She’s dealing with heartbreak, trying to run a business, trying to settle in to her new temporary home and plan for the celebration……

But then on the day of the celebration things start to unravel…..but will the day be a success? Will Flora go back to her Husband or will she realise that she deserves more? And will she be able to love again?

I completely and utterly fell in love with this story.  Flora is a strong woman but you get to see her vulnerabilities, and it’s so heartwarming how people of village rally round to support and help her.  Luna is an amazing character – I absolutely love her!  She’s kind, loving and a bit nuts (is a brilliant way!).  Daniel is a bit standoffish but you learn why (and then love him!), and Caleb is adorable.  I was SO happy to be back with some of the characters from Book One….Stanley is as brilliant as ever – still up to his crazy tricks (he’s in his 80’s and living his best life!), and Becca is developing in leaps and bounds.

Liz has such a fantastic writing style, that genuinely sucks you in.  She is amazing at bringing the characters to life and making you want to hang out with them – you just know you’d have the BEST time!  I read this in one day because it’s just one of those that you can’t put down, and I feel kind of bereft that it’s finished!

Honestly, if you haven’t read any of Liz’s books you NEED to! They are fantastic and will give you all the feels and will have you laughing out loud. I just end up with a massive smile on my face :). You can read this as a standalone but I most definitely recommend reading Book One – just because they’re so fantastic and I wouldn’t want you to miss out!  Book Three is in the pipeline and I genuinely CANNOT wait for it to come out!

This is the perfect book to read on a summers evening with a glass of wine, or take with you on your holiday to read by the pool. Absolutely 100% recommended by me!!

 rating

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

about the author

Liz began her writing career as a journalist and press officer before deciding that she’d rather have the freedom of making things up as a novelist.

Being short-listed in the Corvus ‘Love at First Write’ competition and the Novelicious search for a new women’s fiction star gave Liz the push she needed to keep putting pen to paper …. and ‘Annie’s Holiday by the Sea’ (her first published novel) is the result.

Liz lives on the South Coast with her family and, when she’s not writing, likes to spend time walking by the sea, and trying to meditate. Her ambition is to be serene one day …. she’s still got a long way to go.

Where to find Liz online: Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Instagram

tour hosted by:

Bookouture

A massive thanks to Noelle for inviting me on to the tour and to Liz and Bookouture for providing me with a copy in return for an honest review.  All views ar emu own and are unbiased.

I hope July is a wonderful month for you all, and we get lots of sunshine (not too hot though!)

Have a wonderful Monday!

Chelle x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *