My second post of the day for the blog tour of this wonderful book – New Starts and Cherry Tarts at The Cosy Kettle by Liz Eeles!

the blurb….

Fans of Cathy Bramley, Debbie Johnson and Jenny Colgan will fall in love with the Cosy Kettle café, where slices of lemon meringue pie are served in the sun-dappled garden – and where Callie’s new beginning collides with an old flame…

After yet another failed romance, twenty-six-year-old Callie Fulbright is giving up on love. She’s determined to throw all her efforts into her very own, brand-new café: The Cosy Kettle. Serving hot tea, cherry tarts and a welcoming smile to the friendly locals proves to be the perfect distraction, and Callie feels a flush of pride at the fledging business she’s built.

But her new-found confidence is soon put to the test when her gorgeous ex reappears in the quaint little village. She’ll never forget the heartache Noah caused her years ago, but when they bump into each other on the cobbled streets of Honeyford she can’t help but feel a flutter in her chest…

As Callie and Noah share laughter and memories, she starts to wonder if this could be her second chance at happiness. But when Callie discovers that someone is mysteriously trying to ruin the café’s reputation… she has an awful suspicion that Noah knows who’s involved.

Was she wrong to ever trust him again? And can she find out who’s behind the lies and rumours, before it’s too late for the Cosy Kettle?

Where to buy:  Amazon ~ Apple Books ~ Kobo ~ Googleplay

my review….

This is such a lovely feel-good story, that even had be shedding a few tears towards the end!

Callie lives with her Gramp (who is a legend!) and works in a bookstore in a small Cotswolds village.  After having a new boss take over the bookshop, Callie is able to expand and open a little cafe – The Cosy Kettle.   She does a fantastic job, with lots of of people popping in to spend time with Callie who has a gift for helping those in need.  Then her ex Noah arrives in town, ……an ex that caused her heartbreak 8 years ago and who she hasn’t really ever gotten over.

They eventually rekindle their friendship, but he lives in New York now so any dreams of anything ever happening between them again are hopeless.  Is he really ‘the one that got away’?  Is there any chance for them?

Callie is doing really well with the cafe but then, through social media, the cafe starts getting negative reviews.  Callie knows her clientele well and can’t work out who these people are and why they are posting negative things…..not great for her self-esteem.  But are they really disgruntled customers, or is there more to it? And what will become of the cafe she has worked so hard for?  You will have to read to find out!!

We meet some amazingly quirky characters in this story, and I loved each and every one of them.  Gramp has to be my favourite – an 80 year old man with a new, dangerous lease of life….one that Callie has to try and reign in!  And then there are locals in the cafe who are all so lovely!  Flora, Callie’s boss, is also amazing – really believing in Callie and helping her build her dream.

I honestly love this story.  Although there are sad and frustrating moments, there are equally hilarious laugh out loud moments and times when you are fully backing the characters in their lives.  This is the first in The Cosy Kettle series and I literally can not wait to read the next one and see what’s happening with the characters!

rating….

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

about the author….

Liz began her writing career as a journalist and press officer before deciding that she’d rather have the freedom of making things up as a novelist.

Being short-listed in the Corvus ‘Love at First Write’ competition and the Novelicious search for a new women’s fiction star gave Liz the push she needed to keep putting pen to paper …. and ‘Annie’s Holiday by the Sea’ (her first published novel) is the result.

Liz lives on the South Coast with her family and, when she’s not writing, likes to spend time walking by the sea, and trying to meditate. Her ambition is to be serene one day …. she’s still got a long way to go.

Social Media Links :Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Instagram

As always, don’t forget to check out the other bloggers on this tour too:

Thank you to the author and to Bookouture for providing me with a copy of this wonderful book in return for an honest review.

I hope you all love it too!

Chelle x

Note: All views are my own.  I am not affiliated with any links in this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *