Evening lovelies.  I hope you’ve all had a brilliant day.  This evening I’m on the blog tour for Camp Death by Jim Ody, a classic horror story aimed at young adults, and the first book in the new Question Mark Horror series…..

about the book

Title: Camp Death
Author: Jim Ody
Genre: YA Horror
Series/Standalone: Standalone Book 1 in the Question Mark Horror series
Estimated page count: 213
Formats available: Paperback &eBook.  Available on Kindle Unlimited
Publisher: Question Mark Horror; 1st edition (30 Aug. 2021)
Rating: 
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Tour organised by: Zooloo’s Book Tours

The place had a gruesome past that nobody wanted to talk about…

Camp Deathe is now a great place to spend the summer. Ritchie soon finds a group of outsiders like himself. Teenagers who ignore the organised activities, and bunk off in the old abandoned cabins deep in the woods. The cabins that have a history.

The campfire monster stories were meant to just scare them. Nobody expected them to come true. Then one of the teenagers disappears in the middle of the night.

Something is watching them. It hides in the woods and hunts at night.

Ritchie will have to uncover the secrets of the camp and understand his own problems in order to survive.

Camp Death is Book 1 in a new series brought to you by Question Mark Horror. For fans of Point Horror, Christopher Pike & Nicholas Pine.

Purchase links: Amazon UK ~ Amazon US

my thoughts

When Ritchie’s parents tell him they’re going on a holiday he doesn’t expect to end up in some camp, segregated from his family.  But at first things don’t turn out to be too bad – he makes friends with some other outsiders, and meets a girl.  But then one of the teenagers goes missing, and it seems that the legend of the beast could actually be true……

This is a classic horror story with a creepy ‘cabins in the woods’ setting and the legend of a monster who goes around ripping teenagers apart.  Quite a lot of the story I found to be about the teenagers themselves, and the hardships the teenage years bring, which is good as it means the age range this is aimed at will be able to identify with the characters.

I had my suspicions about some of the ending, but another part of it completely shocked me!  if you’re an adult reading this then you may have come across stories similar to this before, but since it’s aimed at young adults, this is likely to be the first time they come across something like this, and could ignite their love of horror.

There are a few gruesome parts but nothing too much, and it’s most definitely appropriate for the younger readers from 13 onwards.

I’m excited about the whole new Question Mark Horror series, and this is a good start.  So if you’re looking for a new Young Adult Horror series then check this out.

about the author

Jim writes dark psychological/thrillers, Horror and YA books that have endings you won’t see coming, and favours stories packed with wit. He has written over a dozen novels and many more short-stories spanning many genres.

Jim has a very strange sense of humour and is often considered a little odd.  When not writing he will be found playing the drums, watching football and eating chocolate. He lives with his long-suffering wife, three beautiful children and two indignant cats in Swindon, Wiltshire UK.

Where to find Jim online: Facebook | JimOdyAuthor ~ Instagram | @jimodyauthor ~ Twitter | @Jim_Ody_Author ~ Amazon

follow the tour

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thanks to Zoe for inviting me on to the tour, and to Jim and Question Mark Press for my copy of the book.  All views and opinions are my own.

Have a great evening my loves, and I’ll be back soon.

Chelle x

One Reply to “Blog Tour Review: Camp Death by Jim Ody @Jim_Ody_Author @Zooloo2008 @QuestionPress”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *