Evening everyone – I hope you’ve all had a wonderful day!  So I thought I’d get this review up even though it’s a bit later in the day then usual because the book is fab!  Christmas at the Little Waffle Shack by Helen J Rolfe, is a wonderful Christmassy feel good novel that will get you in the Christmassy mood….and make you crave lots of delicious waffles!  Being released on 6th December, this is one to add to your festive reads.

about christmas at the little waffle shack

Heritage Cove is in full swing for the festive season and as the temperature dips, who will be lucky in love this Christmas?

It’s December in Heritage Cove and along with the village Christmas tree, frosty mornings and the promise of the most wonderful time of the year, the new waffle shack is about to open. And its owner isn’t a stranger to the Cove, because after all this time, Daniel is back to make amends with his brother Harvey – as well as a few other locals he might have offended along the way.

Fairly new to the village, local blacksmith Lucy has kept up the pretence of being with her ex for the sake of his gran but she’s fed up with all the lies. Determined to come clean and live the life she wants to live, she’s devastated to find that her attraction to Daniel is tainted by the fact he’s hiding a few things of his own. And his secrets are ones she isn’t sure she’ll ever be able to get past.

Heritage Cove is full of friendship and community; it’s a welcoming place people visit and never want to leave. But will it work its magic for Daniel and Lucy?

A festive read packed with Christmas romance, love and second chances, this is Book 2 in a series of standalone novels set in Heritage Cove, the little village by the sea…

A wonderful romantic treat perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan, Jill Mansell and Emily Harvale.

Published on: 6th December 2020

Formats available: Paperback & eBook.  Available on Kindle Unlimited.

Pre-order/Purchase links: Amazon UK ~ Amazon US

 

my thoughts

I love Christmas, I love food and I love a feel good novel so this was perfect for me!

Lucy is still a newbie in ‘the Cove’ but is settling in well.  When her cat escapes and she bumps into a handsome stranger ,she likes living there even more! But when she finds out Daniel actually comes from Heritage Cove, she starts finding out things about him that she wished she hadn’t.  Although they start to become friends, she finds out something about him that she can’t forget and she realises things will never be…..

Daniel is back, having grown up in Heritage Cove, after being gone for the last 13 years.  His family still lives there and he knows he has to face up to his brother Harvey at some point – the brother that he hasn’t spoken to since he left.  But he’s back for good and opening his own business – The Little Waffle Shack, so he needs to make things right.  An added bonus for him is the hot new girl that he bumps into.  But just as things seem to be going in the right direction, something happens.  With Christmas Day looming, will things work out for him? Will the Little Waffle Shack be a success? And will anything happen between him and Lucy?

I got swept away in this lovely story and the wonderful little village that it’s set in. It’s one of those tight little communities where everyone knows everyone and supports each other, and it’s so lovely.  The characters are brilliant and I loved them all, even the least expected ones!  Lucy is fab with a brilliant job – I love that she’s a blacksmith! Daniel has a bit of a reputation but has he changed? This story definitely proves how people shouldn’t always jump to conclusions!  The supporting characters are all endearing in their own ways – I’d absolutely love to live somewhere like this!

Set in the build up to Christmas this will definitely get you in a festive mood.  With a huge Christmas Tree in the village, and Christmassy waffles galore, you will want to eat every one you read about! The storyline is wonderful. There are some heart wrenching moments, but there are also plenty of funny, and heartwarming moments too that will warm you from the inside out.

I haven’t read any of Helen’s books before but I’ll definitely be reading more! Her easy writing style is enjoyable to read and I love the way she tells the story.  This is book two in the Heritage Cove series but you can absolutely read this as a standalone.  But be warned, it will make you want to read the others (and more!).

So if you’re looking for a festive feel good romance that will make you smile and warm your heart, with wonderful characters in an amazing little village setting then this is for you!  I can’t wait to read more from Helen.  Highly recommended by me.

rating

 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

about helen j rolfe

Helen J Rolfe writes contemporary women’s fiction and enjoys weaving stories about family, friendship, secrets, and community. Characters often face challenges and must fight to overcome them, but above all, Helen’s stories always have a happy ending.

Location is a big part of the adventure in Helen’s books and she enjoys setting stories in different cities and countries around the world. So far, locations have included Melbourne, Sydney, New York, Connecticut, Bath and the Cotswolds.

Helen also writes for Orion Books under the name Helen Rolfe. Her new series, Cafe at the End of the Pier, is out in 2018 and begins with a Valentine’s short story.

Born and raised in the UK, Helen graduated from University with a business degree and began working in I.T. This job took her over to Australia and it was there that she studied writing and journalism and began writing for women’s health and fitness magazines. She also volunteered with the PR department of a children’s hospital where she wrote articles and media releases. Helen began writing fiction in 2011 and hasn’t missed the I.T. world one little bit, although the I.T. skills have come in handy of course, especially when it comes to creating and maintaining a website.

After fourteen years of living in Australia, Helen returned to the UK and now lives in Hertfordshire with her husband and their children.

Where to find Helen online: Website ~ Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Instagram

Thanks so much to Helen for gifting me with a copy of the book.  All views and opinions are my own.

Have a wonderful evening everyone.

Chelle x

Please note this post contains Amazon affiliate links.  If you choose to purchase this book through these link, I will receive a small payment (at no additional cost to you).  This is the only form of monetisation on my blog so every little helps and is appreciated.

One Reply to “Book Review: Christmas at the Little Waffle Shack by Helen J Rolfe @hjrolfe”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *