Today I’m delighted to be on two blog tours – the first is for Dark Sky Island by Lara Dearman…..another brilliant thriller from this author.

the blurb

There’s a killer on the island – and someone knows who…

When human bones are found in a remote bay in the Channel Islands, DCI Michael Gilbert is plunged into an investigation to find out who they belong to. The remains are decades old – but after another body is discovered, the police realise they could be dealing with a serial killer.

Journalist Jennifer Dorey is desperate for answers, driven by a secret of her own – but it soon becomes clear that nobody on the island is quite what they seem. Will anyone tell the truth before it’s too late? Or will the killer on the island strike again…?

A gripping thriller, perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves and Peter May.

Where to buy: Amazon UK ~ Amazon US

my review

Dark Sky Island is book number 2 in the Jennifer Dorey series.  I loved book one – Deep Dark Water so couldn’t wait to get into this!

We’re back with Jenny, who is travelling over to the tiny island of Sark after she hears about human bones being found in a cave.  We also, once again, get to catch up with DCI Michael Gilbert.  He’s investigating the bones but then, whilst on the island a murder takes place……Are the two linked?

Jenny, using her journalistic skills, sets out to find out what’s going on by talking to the locals but feels like they’re all hiding something…..but can a whole island of residents really all be in on one big secret?

And is the murder and bones linked to her own past? A past that she’s so desperately trying to get answers to?

Yet again, Dearman gives us a fabulous gripping storyline, set on a beautiful little island that is somewhat stuck in the past.  Her descriptions of places is fantastic, and it really helps you get sucked in to the story and enables you to feel like you’re really there.  The characters are brilliant.  Jenny, with her own issues, insecurities and past; DCI Gilbert, with his grumpiness and secrets and then a cast of other characters who are interesting to say the least!

Dearman also delivers a number of brilliant twists that are completely not expected!  I’m definitely a  fan of her work, and look forward to reading more from her in the future!

Although this is the second book in the series, this can be read as a standalone.  There’s enough information in the book about what’s happened before, and not only does this help but I’m sure it will leave you wanting to read the first one too!

rating

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

about the author

Lara was born and raised on the beautiful Channel Island of Guernsey. She moved to the UK to study International Relations and French at the University of Sussex, after which she endured a brief career in finance before giving it up to be a stay at home mum to her three children. A short course in Creative Writing at Richmond Adult Community College led to Lara studying for a Masters in Creative Writing at St Mary’s University, London. She graduated in 2016 with a distinction. Having moved from Guernsey to Brighton to London to Paris to Singapore and back to London over the last fifteen years, she has now settled in Westchester, New York, with her family. The Devil’s Claw is her first novel and combines her love of Guernsey, myths and folklore with her obsession with crime fiction and serial killers…

Social Media Links: Twitter ~ Goodreads ~ Website

You can read my review for Deep Dark Water here (previously The Devil’s Claw).

tour hosted by:

Compulsive Readers

Thanks so much to Tracy for inviting me to take part in this tour.  Also, a massive thanks to the author and publisher for providing a digital copy of this book in return for an honest review.  All views are my own and are unbiased.

As always, check out the reviews from all the other fabulous bloggers taking part in this tour.

Thanks for reading!

Chelle x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *