Morning everyone and happy Friday – yay!!  Today I’m delighted to be on the blog tour for The Lost Children by Shirley Dickson, and am so happy to be able to share an extract with you.  I can’t wait to read this (keep an eye out for a review!); but before we get to that, here’s all the info you need to know….

book blurb & info

As they walked towards the railway station, their mother took an envelope from her handbag. ‘I want you to keep this somewhere safe.’
‘What’s in the letter?’
‘Listen carefully. You’re never to open it unless you or your sister are in real trouble. Promise me.’
England, 1943: Home is no longer safe for eight-year-old twins Molly and Jacob. Night after night wailing bombs and screeching planes skim the rooftops overhead. They cradle each other, shivering in terror, not knowing if they will live to see dawn. Their mother, Martha, has no choice but to evacuate them to the safety of the countryside.At the train station, Martha bites back tears as she says goodbye to her precious children. Knowing she might never see them again, she gives Jacob a letter, pressing the envelope into his hands and telling him to only read it if they are in danger.In the country, Molly and Jacob must adjust to life with strangers. Every night they dream of returning home to the arms of their beloved mother. But then the unimaginable happens. Martha is killed in an explosion, leaving the twins all alone in the world.

The war has robbed Molly and Jacob of everything – all they have left is one another. Motherless and destitute, they face the grim reality of life in an orphanage. The time has finally come for Jacob to open the letter. What secret does it hold, and could it change the course of their tragic fate? Because if they are together, they can survive anything – but what if they are torn apart?

From the bestselling author of The Orphan Sisters comes an utterly heartbreaking and unforgettable tale of two children who must lean on each other in a time of tragedy and learn the shocking truth of their past. Fans of Wives of War, Lisa Wingate and Diney Costeloe will be swept away by this sublime World War Two novel.

Published by: Bookouture on 30th September
Formats available: Audiobook & eBook
Purchase Links: Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~ Apple ~ Kobo ~ Google

extract

Prologue 
South Shields, North East England 
January 1935 
Martha Moffatt made her way along cobbled Frederick Street, the dim glow from the streetlamps lighting her way. Her breath steam-like in the frigid air, she pulled up the fur-trimmed collar of her coat as she turned the corner into Hake Street and entered the garage forecourt. ‘Happy New Year, lass.’ The tall, lanky figure of Alan Pearson, one of the mechanics, loomed out from behind a petrol pump. He stamped his feet and blew into his hands. ‘Alan… what a fright you gave me.’ ‘Sorry, lass. But am I glad to see yi’. I’m frozen stiff standing in the cold. Hurry and open up.’ As he made for the office door, he called over his shoulder, ‘Are yi’ feeling better now?’ Martha followed him, her high heels tapping on the concrete. ‘Yes thanks.’ ‘I hear it was the flu. Nasty that. There’s lots of it about. Did it spoil Christmas?’ ‘A bit. I kept feeling sick.’ She still did. Bile rose in Martha’s throat and she swallowed hard. If only she dared ask someone if feeling sick occasionally at four months was natural… But there was no one she could trust. Intrusive and worrying thoughts invaded her mind and a rush of panic seized Martha. Her hand shaking, she fumbled in her bag for the key. She told herself she couldn’t go on like this. Her mind was made up; when she next saw the father, it was time to tell him that she was expecting his bairn.

about the author

Shirley Dickson was born and grew up in the seaside town of South Shields. She left school at fifteen and can’t remember a time when she didn’t write. She entered her first short story competition in ‘School Friend’ when she was eleven. After Shirley retired from auxiliary nursing, she was able to devote her time to writing.

After living in various locations, she settled under the big skies of Northumberland and has lived with her husband in the same house for over forty years. Shirley has three daughters and four grandchildren and likes nothing better than family gatherings.

Where to find Shirley online: Twitter

tour info

Organised by: Bookouture

Thanks so much for Sarah for inviting me on to the tour, and to Shirley and Bookouture for sharing an extract with us.

Have a wonderful day and evening lovelies, and I’ll see you tomorrow!

Chelle x

Please note this post contains Amazon affiliate links.  If you choose to purchase this book through these link, I will receive a small payment (at no additional cost to you).  This is the only form of monetisation on my blog so every little helps and is appreciated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *