Morning my lovelies, and happy Sunday! Today I’ve got two posts for you. First up is an extract on the blog tour of The Wartime Nanny by Lizzie Page, a WW2 historical novel…

book blurb & info

The Nazis are everywhere now. We must leave Vienna. It might be that soon our letters won’t get out anymore. Can you help, dear sister? Please, ask for us. Send news, and quickly. Please.

London, 1938. Sixteen-year-old Natalie Leeman takes the heart-breaking decision to leave her family behind in Vienna and travel to England to join her cousin Leah in service. Natalie is placed with a wealthy suburban family, the Caplins, as a nanny to their energetic six-year-old.

At first, Natalie is delighted by the huge house and beautiful gardens, but things aren’t as perfect as they seem. While Natalie dotes on their child, she is increasingly wary of Mr Caplin, whose gruff manor and fascist politics scare her. And then there are those still waiting at home – Mama and her two sisters, as well as a blossoming romance with her English tutor that had only just begun.

But when Vienna falls under Nazi rule, Natalie begins to fear for her family, especially her vivacious, tomboy little sister Libby. Then rumours of a possible escape route from mainland Europe called the kindertransport begin to swirl – can Natalie help her family escape the Nazis before it’s too late?

A heartbreaking wartime novel – emotional and unforgettable. Perfect for fans of The Alice NetworkThe Tattooist of Auschwitz and Before We Were Yours.

Published by: Bookouture on 11th September 2020

Formats available: Paperback & eBook

Purchase Links: Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~ Apple ~ Kobo ~ Google

        

extract

PROLOGUE

2012

Natalie had tried to find Hugo Caplin three times before and three times she had failed.

The first was in 1952. She’d thought about him often before that. He was always somehow there, buzzing in the background, but in 1952, he came into focus. He was part of the Olympic team, rowing, in Finland. She saw the name in a newspaper, knew it was him. She contacted the British Olympic Association but didn’t hear anything back. Whether they passed on her message to him was anyone’s guess. It was better to think they didn’t.

The second time was when Patricia went on a skiing trip to Austria in February 1967. While she was away, over those terrible ten days, Natalie ignored the advice of friends and went through the telephone directory. She had nice but ultimately fruitless conversations with a Hugh Caplin, a Harriet Caplin and a Heather Caplan.

Then, about five years ago, while she was driving on the motorway to Norwich, she thought she heard his voice on one of those radio show phone-ins. It was a replacement presenter, and they were talking about refugees. The replacement presenter, who had a pleasant, melodic voice, said, ‘And now we have Hugo Caplin from London. Hugo, what do you have to say?’ Natalie had pulled onto the hard shoulder to listen and after he’d spoken, she called right in, surprising herself with her efficiency, and the radio people told her they would try to reach him but even as they said it, she had a feeling she was going into the pile of ‘crazy callers’.

She was ready to try again. She knew it would probably be her last chance but this time, Patricia might help. Guilt is a powerful thing. It can sink you but when used properly, it can propel you to great things. And Patricia was feeling guilty, because Natalie had told her some time ago she was feeling poorly, yet Patricia didn’t take her to the doctor for some weeks. Patricia now thought that if only they’d gone sooner, things might have been different. She didn’t say it aloud, but Natalie saw it written all over her face. Patricia had thought her mother was a hypochondriac. Natalie was a hypochondriac, but even a stopped clock is right twice a day. Poor Patricia.

Natalie was in a care home now, but it was a nice home in Westcliff-on-Sea and her room overlooked the estuary and there were different views at different times of the day. In the morning, you might have mudflats, flat land, all the way to beige factory chimneys; after lunch, the sea might be blue, green and pulsing gently at the sand; and by late afternoon, you might have a vista of a dark grey sea pummelling the sea wall, tipping over it and making puddles on the pavements

about the author

Lizzie loves reading ALL the books and has always loved reading the adventures of women in the past so it seemed natural to her to write historical fiction.

She lives with her family by the sea in South East England. And with her dog. She enjoys traveling and lived in Japan for several years. Lizzie has had lots of different jobs from waitressing and teaching to admin and bingo-calling – but being a writer is her absolute favourite.

She’d love to hear what you think of her books – feel free to send her a message on twitter @LizziePagewrite or on FB or leave a review on amazon.

Where to find Lizzie online: Twitter ~ Facebook

tour info

Tour by: Bookouture

Thanks to Noelle  for inviting me on to the tour, and to Lizzie and Bookouture for sharing an extract with us.

Hopefully I’ll have a review up of this for you soon so keep your eyes peeled!

Back soon!

Chelle x

Please note this post contains Amazon affiliate links.  If you choose to purchase this book through these link, I will receive a small payment (at no additional cost to you).  This is the only form of monetisation on my blog so every little helps and is appreciated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *