I’ve also got another brilliant Meet the Author interview for you.  Today I’m talking to the lovely Emma Tallon about shifty recce’s, shares in Amazon, what sort of movie her life would be (this made me laugh!) and her most recent book Fearless Girl…..

 

Genre(s):

Organised Crime / Gangland

Tell us a bit about yourself:

As a lover of books from a very early age, I always wanted to write. For years I wrote just for fun or to relax after a long day at the office. There’s something really soothing about losing yourself in a world of your own creation. Then a few years ago I began freelancing as a ghost writer. It was a way of doing something I loved and making a living from it. I never really considered becoming an author at that point. Back then it seemed like one of those lovely dreams you have but never actually go for, for some reason. Eventually after the birth of my son, my husband pushed me into finishing one of my own stories and told me to just go for it. What did I have to lose? He asked. He was the first person to actually say that to me, and it was exactly what I needed to hear. After a whole load of rejections from publishers and agents alike, I self published my work and within a few months received the first offer from my awesome publisher Bookouture. Since then I have released six books, am working on the seventh and am contracted to the twelfth and I couldn’t be happier now that I get to do exactly what I love best each and every day.

How many books have you written and published?

I’ve part written about fifteen books across several genres, aside from the six I have had published.

Which book, out of all the books you have written, is your favourite and why?

I think Fierce Girl has to be my favourite, the forth in the series. I loved the cover and title my publisher came up with and it was one of the most fun and interesting books to write. Aside from getting to introduce some interesting new characters, I had to do a recce to a place called the Charterhouse in London. I took my family out there one Saturday for a day out and took the tour. The place itself was really interesting, so rich in history – but I think they found me a little odd, as whilst the rest of the tour group were drinking in the tapestries and the masonry and the fun facts about which royal did what in which room, I was finding the best spots to run, hide or trip up in the dead of night and mapping out potential creepy area’s to best describe in my book.

Which of your characters would you want to be stranded on an island with, and why?

If I was not a happily married woman, it would be Freddie. The dangerous yet extremely well dressed and very good looking bad boy with a fierce loyalty to those he loves. What’s not to love? However, as I am happily married, it would have to be Tanya. Because no matter how bad it would get stuck on an island, she would always have something funny to say and a fighting spirit to get us through.

If you could get in a time machine and had one chance to travel, where would you go and why? (Backwards or forwards!)

I’m sure a lot of people would say something far more admirable here, but honestly, I’d go back to 1997, take out as large a loan as I could (hiding behind my parents identity, as I would be 10) and buy a stack load of shares in Amazon.

If you were given a boat, what would you name it and why?

Freedom. Because that is what it would represent to me. I love being on the sea. Some of my best memories are times when we’ve hired a boat and sailed under the sun all day, leaving all our cares behind. It feels, when you’re out there on the crystal blue waters of the med, or wherever, like you’ve truly stepped off the grid.

Do you believe in love at first sight?

No. I believe in lust at first sight, but love is something that comes when you discover and admire something much deeper in someone or something else.

If a movie was made about your life, what genre would it be, who would you want to play you and what would its title be?

I have a feeling it would be some sort of sarcastic comedy, considering the chaos of all the juggling I have to do in my life. Right now for example, I have a four year old who has just returned to school from lockdown with rather a more colourful vocabulary than before, a newborn baby who doesn’t like to sleep and I’m frantically working on finishing my next book before next month whilst working on the dining table in the middle of a horribly loud building site as we’re getting an extension done and my office has been taken over for furniture storage. Some may call me crazy for taking all this on at once – they would be right. But I shall persevere with it all anyway. In the movie version they would no doubt focus on things like the baby projectile pooping on my white top from across the laptop/changing table, or the time I realised far too late that there was chewed up food in the drink my son so sweetly gave to me whilst I was busy doing my best to look smooth and professional online.

– for the record, I look forward to the sequel when the hard part of this is all over!

The title I guess would probably be something like ‘She Did What?’ and if I got to choose who played me, I would definitely go with Emma Stone. Not that we look alike, I just absolutely love her vibe.

Do you feel it’s more important to have a) strong characters b) a mind-blowing plot or c) amazing settings?

I actually don’t believe that having an amazing setting is very important at all. At least not in my genre. My books are set in the gritty streets of the London underworld. Which isn’t a setting I would particularly call amazing. It’s the characters that bring a story to life. The plot is very important, but I would say personally, my books are very character led.

What is your favourite time to write, and why?

Through the evening, though I don’t often get a chance to write late with a young family to work around. I tend to work through the day. But there is something about working late at night when the world is dark and quiet, that makes my imagination come alive.

And finally, tell us about your most recent book and where we can find it?

My latest book is the sixth instalment of the Tyler family series, which follows the lives of three vastly different characters through the murky underground world of London.

Fearless Girl

Fans of Martina Cole, Kimberley Chambers and Jessie Keane will be hooked by Fearless Girl.

When everything changes, you have to come out fighting.

It’s been three years since Freddie Tyler was sent to prison, now he’s back on the streets of London and about to find out that everything has changed.

As Freddie enters his West End club for the first time in years, he finds ex-girlfriend Anna Davis sitting behind his desk, confidently leading his team of men. Anna used to hate the world he lived in, but she has now become a big part of it. And she’s not about to give up running the family business easily.

Anna shows a toughness Freddie has never witnessed in her before when she tells him about her new enterprise, smuggling stolen diamonds through London’s Hatton Garden. And alarm bells start ringing when Freddie meets Anna’s new partner. Cold and ruthless, Roman Gains isn’t someone Freddie trusts around the club and particularly not around Anna.

Whilst tensions flare between Anna and Freddie, a new Russian firm enters their world, determined to bring the Tylers down. And when they take out one of his best men, Freddie has to take drastic action to wrestle control from Anna. But she has other ideas. And when Roman becomes Anna’s closest ally, Freddie finally reaches breaking point. Could this be the fall of the Tyler empire and the last time Freddie and Anna are on the same side?

To learn more or grab a copy for yourself, click this link -> https://geni.us/B083WCYPWLSocial

Where to find Emma online: Website ~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Instagram

final words from chelle…

Thank you Emma for your wonderful interview.  It does sound like you’re having a time of it at the moment, and I’m sure it would make an entertaining film (although you probably wouldn’t think so at the time!)….Baby projectile poop…..!!  Your recce around The Charterhouse also made me laugh ~ the staff and other people on the tour must have wondered what on earth you were doing!!  I hope things settle down for you soon and your four year old’s vocabulary doesn’t get any worse!!

If you have any questions or comments for Emma, then get in touch using the links below or drop a comment below.

Have a wonderful Wednesday my lovelies

Chelle x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *