Afternoon my lovelies.  I hope you’re all having a lovely weekend and are getting to enjoy some sunshine!  Today on Meet the Author I’m talking to the lovely Karen King.  We’re discussing teleporting, writing tons of books, being an eclectic reader, her favourite time to write, what superpower she’d love and about her most recent book, The Year of Starting Over……

Genre(s):

Romance, YA, Children’s books and currently contracted to write two psychological thrillers.

How many books have you written and published?

Eight romance novels, two young adult novels and about one hundred and twenty children’s books. There are more books in the pipeline.

How long does it take you to write a book?

It depends on the deadline. I usually have a contract when I’m writing so have a deadline to write to. I also usually work on at least two books at the same time unless my deadline is really tight. The shortest deadline I’ve had is nine weeks to write a 75,000 word novel. That was tough but I managed it.

As a child, what did you want to do when you grew up?

I wanted to be a ballerina, but a few ballet lessons soon showed me that I had two left feet. I changed my mind then and decided to be an air hostess so I could see the world then changed my mind and wanted to be a nurse. I didn’t end up doing any of these.

What other jobs have you done other than being an author?

I worked in an insurance office when I left school. I’ve also taught English as a Foreign Language, lectured part-time on a professional writing course at university and worked part time in a large department store.

If you could have a superpower, what would it be and why?

The ability to teleport. It would be amazing to think yourself somewhere and pop! You’re there rather than spend hours travelling. What a way to see the world!

If you could be, or meet, any mythical creature, what would you choose and why?

A phoenix. I imagine them as beautiful, strong creatures, illuminating with life.

What is something you can’t live without?

Chocolate. Seriously, I’m addicted to it.

Do you feel it’s more important to have a) strong characters b) a mind-blowing plot or c) amazing settings?

Strong characters. For me, characters make stories, and the reader needs to care about the characters, to invest in them and see how things work out for them. Plots and settings are very important, of course, but I believe that the character comes first.

What is your favourite genre to read and why?

I haven’t got one. I’m an eclectic writer and reader, writing and reading in many different genres. I like to read romance novels, autobiographies, psychological thrillers, fantasy stories as well as the classics.

What is your favourite time to write, and why?

Mornings. I like to get up, have breakfast and start writing as I tend to work better first thing in the morning. However, if I’m on a deadline I’ll work whenever I can and have often written well into the early hours of the morning.

What gave you the idea for your novel, The Year of Starting Over?

I wanted to write a story about second chances, someone deciding to up sticks and make a new life for themselves, I think most of us feel like doing this at some time on their life but lack the courage. My husband and I moved to Spain a couple of years ago so that provided the setting for the book, and also some of the incidents that happened in it.

And finally, tell us about your most recent book and where we can find it?

The Year of Starting Over

What if – to find yourself – you had to run away?

Last year was meant to be when Holly got her happy-ever-after. But stuck in a job that’s going nowhere, and a relationship that feels more like it’s going backwards… this year Holly has decided it’s time to change her life. She just has to:

– End the relationship with the commitment-phobic boyfriend
– Go on a proper adventure
– Learn to be herself again
– Definitely, categorically not fall in love.

Cramming her belongings into her little yellow Mini, Holly drives on to a ferry bound to Spain, to stay at a remote farmhouse near a beautiful village in the Andalusian hills.

But the day she arrives she nearly crashes her car into a gorgeous guy on a motorbike. He’s called Matias and their paths keep crossing, much to Holly’s irritation. Because as she learns to speak Spanish from the locals, finally starts laying out plans for her own design business, and sips sangria in the sunlit village square, Holly is beginning to remember who she is and what she wants.

So she won’t allow herself be distracted by Matias. Because this year – for Holly – there are more important things in life than love. And she won’t let yet another bad relationship ruin everything… will she?

A moving and uplifting romantic comedy about living each moment and learning to trust yourself again, for fans of Jenny Hale, Debbie Macomber, and Sophie Kinsella.

Where to buy: Amazon ~ Apple ~ Kobo

Where to find Karen online: Website ~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Pinterest ~ Amazon Author Page

final words from chelle…

Thank you Karen for featuring on my blog.  It’s lovely to get to know you more, and I’m amazed by how many books you have written and published! I would also love to meet a Phoenix – they sound like such amazing, strong creatures, as well as beautiful! It sounds like you made the right move going to Spain, I hope you’re enjoying yourself in the sunshine!

If you have any questions/comments for Karen, then give her a shout using the links above, or drop a comment below.

Have a lovely evening all!

Chelle x

2 Replies to “Meet the Author: Karen King

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *