Morning my lovelies.  Today I’m so excited to be on the blog tour for Book 3 in the Fata Morgana Series – Giants in the Earth by Jo-Anne Blanco.  This was a brilliant, action packed monster of a book (706 pages!) and I loved every second of it.

about Giants in the earth


In the aftermath of Ambrosius’ attack on Tintagel Castle, young Morgan is sent away to the fortress of Dimilioc with her family, friends and tutor. But when bandits ambush their party, Morgan gets lost in the forest with nothing but her wits and her magic powers to rely on.

In her battle for survival, Morgan faces a cruel, hostile world that is suspicious, afraid and jealous of her magic. Silver-tongued faeries who are not what they seem. Vengeful Piskies and Muryans holding her friend Ganieda captive. Angry Giants and Spriggans who have awakened in the earth. And the ever-present threat of Ambrosius and his army, waiting to strike again…

To rescue her friends and outwit her enemies, Morgan must draw upon all her gifts, magic and mortal, in a perilous journey that will test her strength, faith and loyalty to the utmost…

Publisher: Independently published (7 Dec. 2020)

Formats: Paperback & eBook.  Available on Kindle Unlimited

Purchase links: Amazon UK ~ Amazon US

my thoughts

Following directly on from the end of the last book we’re back with Morgan as she leaves Tintagel on her journey to Dimilioc with her Mother and friends.  However, they are set upon by bandits and Morgan is left to fend for herself in a dark forest in the middle of nowhere.  And so begins her dangerous and exciting adventure taking on Giants and Spriggans, discovering new creatures and heading off to find the Piskies and Muryans to save Ganieda.  Along the way she starts learning about her powers and discovering new ones, but will she find out who she really is? Will she save her friends? And will she ever make it back home to Tintagel?

I absolutely loved this story.  I think this is definitely my favourite out of the three so far, with a whole bunch of new creatures – beautiful and gruesome, mean and kind.  Morgan has grown in herself so much since the first book – bearing in mind I think she is still only five years old, she is amazing.  An old soul who faces challenges no young girl should ever have to face.  She makes tough decisions and loses people along the way, but she stands by her decisions and remains strong.

The adventure in this is incredible.  The author must have the craziest imagination to come up with some of these things! Her descriptions are absolutely fantastic, allowing this to be played out in your mind and drawing you in.  As the book goes on, it does repeat the things Morgan’s done and I actually really liked this as it firmed them up in my mind and made me remember the story even better.

I was sad to lose one of my favourite characters but am hoping they will miraculously return in the next one (which I CANNOT wait for!).  The relationships Morgan has in this are complex and she has to battle with herself to understand why things are happening, which also makes for a fantastic read.  You will definitely go on an emotional rollercoaster journey with her!

Overall this is a magical and wonderful tale of adventure, beautiful AND gruesome creatures and an amazing young girl who starts coming into her power.  Despite the fact that this is a really long book I didn’t get bored once and actually didn’t want it to end.  You could probably read this without having read the first two as there are enough references to the things that have happened previously for you to understand, BUT I would highly recommend reading from Book 1 (as they are all fab).  So if you’re looking for your next magical, exciting adventure then you should check this series out.  Highly recommended by me.

Check out my reviews of Book 1 and 2 here: Small Things and Great ~ Children of this World



about the author

Jo-Anne Blanco was born in Brazil to an English mother and Spanish father. She has spent much of her life travelling around the world as a teacher. Her travels, together with her lifelong passion for reading, writing and storytelling, inspired her to embark upon her Fata Morgana epic fantasy series, about the life and adventures of Morgan le Fay. Mythology, fairy tales and Arthurian legend are all major influences on her work, and her ongoing journeys to countries of great landscapes and folklore are never-ending sources of inspiration.

She is the author of Morgan Le Fay: Small Things and Great, Morgan Le Fay: Children of This World and Morgan Le Fay: Giants in the Earth. These novels are the first three books in the Fata Morgana series.

follow the tour

Thanks to the ladies at Love Books Tours for inviting me on to the tour, and to the lovely author for gifting me with a copy of the book.  All views and opinions are my own.

Have you read these? Or are you going to? Let me know!

Have a wonderful day.

Chelle x

Please note this post contains Amazon affiliate links.  If you choose to purchase this book through these link, I will receive a small payment (at no additional cost to you).  This is the only form of monetisation on my blog so every little helps and is appreciated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *