Afternoon my lovelies. I’m so delighted to be one of the opening stops on publication day for My Mother’s Choice by Ali Mercer, an emotional family drama with a gripping mystery and some brilliant twists….

book blurb & Info

‘A heart-wrenching drama… an emotional rollercoaster with twists along the way… I read this in four hours and I know you’ll be hooked too.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Nobody talks about my mother. Absolutely nobody. I have no idea what she was like. I’d always thought they kept quiet about her because they were sad. But what if it was because they were guilty?

I watch them at the school gates, all the mothers with their daughters. I see the hugs and all those thoughtful little adjustments to scarves and ponytails. How their love seems to overflow, they have so much of it to give.

And then I walk home to my aunt’s cold house, where there are a hundred rules for me to follow and only a single photograph of my mother to look at.

She is never spoken about in this house. They tell me that it will be easier if I don’t think about her.

It is strange though, isn’t it? That I know nothing about my own mother?

But they don’t know about the diary I’ve found up in the loft. Maybe they even forgot it was there. It doesn’t matter anymore if they won’t tell me anything. Because within these pages is what I’ve waited fourteen years to find out. And maybe some things I wish I could forget.

All I wanted was to bring our family closer together, but could what I find tear us apart instead?

A heartbreaking and powerful novel about family secrets and how we live with decisions we never thought we would have to make. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Kate Hewitt and Amanda Prowse.

Published by: Bookouture on 29th July 2020

Formats available: Paperback, Audiobook & eBook

Purchase Links: Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~ Apple ~ Kobo ~ Googleplay       

 

my thoughts

Fourteen year old Dani lives with her Aunt after her Mother died ten years ago, but she doesn’t know much about her death…..nobody really speaks of her Mum.  After disobeying an instruction from her Aunt, Dani finds out more about her Mum’s death – but still not enough.  Why won’t her Dad or Aunt open up to her?

After talking about the loss of her Mum with her new friend, and the fact that she only has a single photograph of her Mum, Josie encourages her to go looking in the loft.  If there is anything left of her Mum, surely it would be up there, right? Correct – she finds her Mum’s diary, and without telling anyone other than Josie, she takes it and reads it.  But when she starts finding out shocking family secrets, she wonders if she’s done the right thing…… Then, she sets off to uncover the final bits to her story.  But by doing so, she discovers more than she could have ever imagined……

This is a fabulous and emotional read that had me reeled in.  I felt really sorry for Dani, although didn’t find her to be the warmest character, but then she doesn’t seem to have had much love from her surviving family as she’s grown up.  With so many family secrets coming unravelled, it’s hard for her to deal with.  Her Aunt Carrie is cold, and it frustrated me that she didn’t seem to care much about her niece.  I think deep down she did, but just wasn’t good at showing any emotions.  Her Dad, Jon is also frustrating.  Cold and distant, however this is mainly due to the secrets that have been hidden.

I thoroughly enjoyed the plot and the fact that the mystery keeps you wanting more.  Alternatively told from Dani’s point of view and from her Mum Laura’s diary, it unravels at just the right pace; allowing time for Dani or Laura to work through their particular emotions.

I did guess one of the secrets about 25% of the way through the book, but I had no clue whether I would be right or whether I was just speculating until near the end.  There were, however, some brilliant twists in here that I hadn’t anticipated and they blew me away!

Overall, this is a fantastic read full of lies, deceit, betrayal, loss and heartbreak that will keep you turning the pages.  If you’re looking for a good family drama with a brilliant mystery and plenty of shocking secrets, then you should check this out.  Recommended by me!  I’m looking forward to see what Mercer brings us next.

rating

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

about the author

Ali decided she wanted to be a writer early on and wrote her first novel when she was at primary school. She did an English degree and spent her early twenties working in various jobs in journalism, including as a reporter for the show business newspaper The Stage. She started writing fiction in earnest after getting married, moving out of London to the Oxfordshire market town of Abingdon and starting a family. She has two children, a daughter and a son who is autistic and was diagnosed when he was four years old.

Ali is fascinated by families, their myths and secrets, and the forces that hold them together, split them up and (sometimes) bring them back together again. She always travels with tissues and a book and has been known to cry over a good story but is also a big fan of the hopeful ending.

Where to find Ali online: Twitter ~ Instagram ~ Facebook

tour hosted by

Bookouture

Thanks to Noelle at Bookouture for inviting me on to the tour, and to Ali and Bookouture for gifting me with a copy of the book.  All views and opinions are my own.

All the other fab blogs taking part in the tour are above so make sure you give them a follow too.

Back soon with my second post of the day!

Chelle x

Please note this post contains Amazon affiliate links.  If you choose to purchase this book through these link, I will receive a small payment (at no additional cost to you).  This is the only form of monetisation on my blog so every little helps and is appreciated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *