My last review of today and I’m soooo excited to be reviewing this book! Set in my beautiful home town of Folkestone, Sunny Sands by Trevor Twohig is a fantastic, crime thriller with some fabulous twists, a loveable protagonist and an amazing setting (obviously!)…..

book blurb & info

A teenage body washed up on the beach… A twisted operation conceived by criminal masterminds… Can one man solve the case?

For fans of Lee Child and Ian Rankin, comes an absorbing and powerful thriller from a new, gritty, modern voice. The first book in the Charlie Stone series.

Only one man sees the truth In the sleepy, coastal town of Folkestone, Detective Sergeant Charlie Stone is struggling. Recently separated from his wife Jo and feeling estranged from his five-year-old daughter Maddie, Charlie is trying hard to keep his life together. An apparently cut and dried case of murder piques Charlie’s interest. As he delves further into the murky coastal underworld, he soon understands that not everything is what it seems. As Charlie gets closer to the truth, he finds that he and his family are being dragged into a world of darkness, danger and depravity. Can Charlie find the answers, while keeping all he holds dear, safe from harm?

Formats available: Paperback & eBook

Purchase Links: Amazon UK ~ Amazon US

my thoughts

When DS Charlie Stone is spending the day with his daughter on the Sunny Sands, the last thing he expects is for a body of a young girl to wash up.  He’s assigned to the case but then after some digging, realises things might not be as they seem.  The more he delves, the more suspicious he gets; and it seems that someone wants to keep the things he’s finding out quiet.   But as he puts himself and his family in danger, he can’t back down and knows that he needs to find the truth.  But will he be able to keep those he loves safe? And will he be able to uncover those entangled in the criminal underworld of Folkestone?

I loved this…..I know, I know.  You’re going to think I’m biased but I promise I’m being honest.  So let’s cover the setting first (of which I may be a little biased!).  Set in Folkestone, a sleepy seaside town on the south east coast of England, Twohig takes us on a proper little tour of the town.  I always enjoy a book where I can see the story unfolding in my head, and I could do exactly that with Sunny Sands, because I knew every road, pub and landmark! I even went to the school in it and spent many a day at the Garden Centre with my parents on a Sunday!  And for any other Folkestonian’s who might read this – there are some old school places mentioned that will bring back beloved memories!!  Obviously if you’re not familiar with Folkestone, it’s not going to be as easy for you; but Twohig does do a good job of setting the scene so you can bring it to life and enjoy my beautiful town.  And the best thing is that a sleepy little town like Folkestone is the last place you’d expect to find a criminal underworld!

In terms of characters, I really liked Charlie.  Still getting used to his separation from his wife Jo, and less time with his little girl Maddie, Charlie struggles with his own feelings; using alcohol to  numb the pain.  But despite what he’s going through, he’s dedicated to his job and determined to uncover the truth, no matter what it takes.  There are people that try to stop him but his resilience is applaudable.  He’s really relatable though and I could genuinely imagine him as a cop in a small town.  Some of the supporting characters I absolutely adored – Dave, Tara, Polly and Maddie for a start.  And then there are the one’s that aren’t so nice……..

I really enjoyed the plot, and there were some massive twists in this that I hadn’t expected at all.  The pacing is just right and kept me engrossed, shifting me to the edge of my seat more than once!  Drugs, trafficking and prostitution rings are intense subjects and the characters mixed up in these are despicable and shocking….

The other thing I really enjoyed was the additional story at the end – Blood Betrayal, which covers the story of Amy Green in her final days and there were some shockers in here; genuine jaw to floor kind of moments.

This is the first book in the DS Stone series and I can’t wait to read book 2, Crimson Cross and see what Stone gets up to next.  Overall, this is a brilliant debut and if you’re a fan of crime thrillers then definitely check this out – who doesn’t love a new detective and some major crimes?! Sunny Sands is most definitely recommended by me.

rating

 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/⭐️

about the author

Hi, I’m Trevor Twohig and I was born in South East London. I was never great at school, except English. I would go so far as to say that writing is my passion.

Throughout my life I have created novels and novellas, poetry and lyrics. For a large part of my professional life I have been a teacher and Head of English as creating a desire to write in the next generation is something I believe in.

I appeared at the Folkestone Book Festival in 2016 where I discussed my journey and promoted my novel ‘Sunny Sands.’

My experience in education and journalism has allowed me to develop my editing skills also, so please don’t hesitate to contact me for any of your writing needs. I am available to work on a freelance basis.

Sunny Sands was released in 2018 and continues to be the top seller at The Conrad Press. The second novel in the series will be released in 2020. For further updates please follow me on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Where to find Trevor online: Website ~ Facebook ~ Instagram ~ Twitter

Huge thanks to Trevor for gifting me with a copy of the book.  All views and opinions are my own.

If you read this, please get in touch! I’d love to talk about it and if you have any questions about the town, feel free to ask!

Have a wonderful day my lovelies.

Chelle xPlease note this post contains Amazon affiliate links.  If you choose to purchase this book through these link, I will receive a small payment (at no additional cost to you).  This is the only form of monetisation on my blog so every little helps and is appreciated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *