Afternoon my loves.  I hope you’re all having a fantastic Thursday!  First up today I’m absolutely thrilled to be on the blog tour ofThe Book Binder’s Daughter by Jessica Thorne, an absolutely beautiful tale of libraries, magic, secrets and love…….

Title: The Book Binder’s Daughter
Author: Jessica Thorne
Genre: Women’s Fiction / Fantasy
Series/Standalone: Standalone
Estimated page count: 496
Formats available: Paperback, Audiobook and eBook
Publisher: Bookouture (20 Sept. 2021)
Rating: 
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Tour organised by: Bookouture

The song surrounded her now, the murmuring of the library insistent, and her foot took the first step on the winding stairs. She knew it wasn’t entirely a dream. It was the library calling her, its magic driving her.

When Sophie is offered a job at the Ayredale Library – the finest collection of rare books in the world, and the last place her bookbinder mother was seen when Sophie was just a teenager – she leaps at the chance. Will she finally discover what happened to the woman she’s always believed abandoned her?

Taking in the endless shelves of antique books, the soaring stained-glass windows, and the grand sweeping staircase, usually shy Sophie feels strangely at home, and is welcomed by her eccentric fellow binders. But why is the Keeper of the Library so reluctant to speak about Sophie’s mother? And why is Sophie the only person who can read the strange spells in the oldest books on display, written in a forgotten language nobody else understands?

The mysteries of the library only deepen when Sophie stumbles upon an elaborately carved door. The pattern exactly matches the pendant her mother left behind years ago, engraved with a delicate leaf. As the door swings open at her touch, Sophie gasps at the incredible sight: an enormous tree, impossibly growing higher than the library itself, its gently falling golden leaves somehow resembling the pages of a book. Amidst their rustling, Sophie hears a familiar whisper…

‘There you are, my Sophie. I knew you’d come back for me.’

An absolutely spellbinding read about long-hidden family secrets and the magic that lurks between the pages of every ancient book. Perfect for fans of The Ten Thousand Doors of JanuaryThe Night Circus and The Binding.

Purchase links: Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~ Apple ~ Kobo ~ Google

my thoughts

Sophie is a lonely woman but doing a job she loves.  She has a boyfriend but he’s controlling and not the nicest.  When she receives a mysterious letter one day little does she realise that her life is about to change……

Offered a job at Ayredale Library, the Special Collections library where her parents worked and where she grew up as a child, Sophie feels the need to accept.  Not only because of that but because it’s the last place her Mother was seen…..Will this job help her discover what really happened to her? As she returns she finds all sorts of memories coming back to her….. And when a book shuffles the words around and she’s able to read them, but apparently no-one else can, she realises there might be magic in the air.  But what is the real reason she’s returned to this place that she feels is home? Who can she trust? And will she discover the truth to her Mother’s disappearance?

I absolutely fell in love with this book from page one, and by a few chapters in I knew this was going to be one of my favourite books of the year.  It’s full of books and magic, set in a beautiful and mysterious library – what more could I ask for?!

The characters are brilliant.  Sophie is quiet and timid at the beginning and has been downtrodden by her ex, Victor.  But as she settles into the library, she starts to come out of herself….. The other characters in the library are all very mysterious and I don’t want to say much about anyone else.  Everyone has a history and everyone has secrets – and you’ll love every second of watching them unravel…..

The setting is fantastic.  If you’re a book lover you will absolutely love it (and let’s be honest, if you’re reading this then you are!).  It’s huge, beautiful and magical and all I wanted to do was be there with Sophie!

The plot is brilliant.  It slowly unravels and keeps you drawn in to the mystery and suspense.  You’ll wonder who you can trust and what will happen next.  The writing is beautiful and just adds to the absolutely spellbinding read.  Reading this I got vibes of Percy Jackson and A Discovery of Witches (both of which I love) so if you’re fan of them you will love this.  This comes highly recommended by me, and as I said is easily up there with one of my favourites of 2021……now go and order it!

about the atuhor

Jessica Thorne saw Star Wars at an impressionable age and life was never the same. She’s loved fantasy, romance and science fiction ever since and spends her time looking for adventure – in the pages of her books.

Sometimes she is Ruth Frances Long and won the European Science Fiction Society Spirit of Dedication Award for Best Author of Children’s Science Fiction and Fantasy, 2015.

Where to find Jessica online: Facebook ~ Twitter | @jessthornebooks ~ Website ~ Instagram | @jessthornebooks

follow the tour

Massive thanks to Noelle for inviting me on to the tour, and to Jessica, Bookouture and NetGalley for my copy of the book.  All views and opinions are my own.
I’ll be back in a while with my second review of the day!
Until then…..
Chelle x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *