Today I’m absolutely delighted to be on the blog tour for The Falling Sword by Ben Kane. A well written and researched, fast paced historical fiction novel.

the blurb

CAN GREECE RESIST THE MIGHT OF ROME?

Get ready for the climax of the Roman invasion of Greece in Sunday Times bestseller Ben Kane’s latest historical adventure.

ONE FINAL CLASH
Reeling from his defeat at the hands of the Macedonians, Rome’s furious General Flamininus gathers his legions for the final strike on King Philip’s mighty phalanx.

AN EMPIRE ON THE EDGE
Both leaders know the victor will rule Greece, and both armies will do everything in their power to claim the ultimate prize.

TWO HEROES PREPARED TO DIE
Fighting on opposing sides, Felix and Demetrios think they have survived the worst of the campaign. But between vicious infighting, unruly locals, and intense battle, both will be tested as the final showdown between two great civilisations begins . . .

THE FALLING SWORD is the gripping follow-up to CLASH OF EMPIRES from Ben Kane, the master of historical fiction – for fans of Simon Scarrow, Harry Sidebottom, Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell.

You can find Clash of Empires on Amazon here.

my review

Wow! Another fantastic fast-paced amazing novel from Ben Kane! I absolutely loved Clash of Empires so couldn’t wait to read this to find out what our heroes were up to!

As with Clash of Empires, the story is told from the two sides – the Macedonians and the Roman’s.  Parts of the story are told from the leaders’ points of view, General Flamininus and King Philip and the remaining parts are told by two of the army, Felix and Demetrios.  It was great to be back with them as I fell in love with them in the Clash of Empires!  They all go through their own stories…..family, friendships gained and lost, betrayal, murder, blackmail and victory.  The supporting cast are brilliant and I was gutted that we had to lose some of them…..sadly, the inevitability of battle.

What blows me away is the amount of research that Kane must have to do to bring us these books and how fantastically written they are.  The way the people, places and battles are described truly allows the reader to bring it to life, and be there with them in the thick of it.

This will honestly have you on the edge of your seat, wanting to see what the final outcome will be…..who will we lose and who will make it? Who will be victorious in battle? If you’re a fan of historical fiction then you need to read this! This can be read as a standalone, as the background information on the characters is provided, but I would highly recommend you read Clash of Empires too which is also a fantastic book, and will help you fall in love with the characters even more.  You can read my review on Clash of Empires here.

I’m sad that these books are over now but I will definitely return to them for a re-read in the future; there is so much action I’m sure there are plenty of bits of missed! I’m looking forward to reading more from this fantastic future and will be seeking out his back catalogue of books! Highly recommended by me!

rating

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

about the author

The battle of the Teutoburg Forest, or Varian Disaster, took place in Germany, in September of AD 9. Three Roman legions were massacred by native tribes in a supremely well executed ambush. The defeat was one of the greatest ever suffered by Rome, and the body blow it delivered was one of the reasons that the Empire never again made a serious attempt to conquer Germany.

All my books are born from my obsession with Roman history, and this one was no different. Planning and writing a series of novels about the lead-up to this conflict, the battle itself and its aftermath has been thrilling. I have twice visited the area of Germany in which the battle took place, and its many museums. Seeing the equipment, weapons, coins and even the bones of legionaries who’d died in battle didn’t just fuel my imagination – it stirred my soul.

Eagles at War is the first in my ‘Eagles’ trilogy of novels about the Varian disaster and the events thereafter. Although it is a work of fiction, it is peopled by historical characters and is based on real events. I hope, like me, you will want to immerse yourself in this incredible story, to remind yourself why the legend of Rome endures, and to stand with Varus’ legionaries during the rain-soaked, muddy, bloody terror of Arminius’ ambush.

To find out more about all my books, please go to my website: www.benkane.net.
or to Facebook or to Twitter – you’ll find me easily there.
You can also watch some short, documentary style videos on Youtube: http://bit.ly/1yVwDhG

tour hosted by

Compulsive Readers

Check out the other reviews from these fantastic bloggers too! Thanks so much to Tracy for inviting me on to the tour. And a massive thanks to the author, and publisher for providing a copy of the book in return for an honest review.  All views are my own and are unbiased.

Have a wonderful Thursday lovelies!

Chelle x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *