Good morning lovelies and welcome to the weekend! First up today I’m on the blog tour for The Secrets of Hawthorn Place, and am pleased to bring you a Q&A with author, Jenni Keer.  First up, here’s all the details on the book……

Title: The Secrets of Hawthorn Place
Author: Jenni Keer
Genre: Women’s commercial fiction / dual timeline
Series/Standalone: Standalone
Estimated page count: 312
Formats available: Paperback, Audiobook and eBook
Publisher: Headline Accent (14 Oct. 2021)
Tour organised by: Rachel’s Random Resources

Love will always find a way… Discover the intriguing secrets of Hawthorn Place in this heartfelt dual-time novel, filled with warmth and charm, perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Cecelia Ahern.

Two houses, hundreds of miles apart…yet connected always.

When life throws Molly Butterfield a curveball, she decides to spend some time with her recently widowed granddad, Wally, at Hawthorn Place, his quirky Victorian house on the Dorset coast.

But cosseted Molly struggles to look after herself, never mind her grieving granddad, until the accidental discovery of an identical Art and Crafts house on the Norfolk coast offers her an unexpected purpose, as well as revealing a bewildering mystery.

Discovering that both Hawthorn Place and Acacia House were designed by architect Percy Gladwell, Molly uncovers the secret of a love which linked them, so powerful it defied reason.

What follows is a summer which will change Molly for ever…

Purchase Links: Amazon UK ~ Amazon US

q&a with jenni keer

Genre(s):

Dual timeline romance

Tell us a bit about yourself:

I live in the Suffolk countryside with my husband, four teenage sons and four cats. I used to work in contract flooring, and only realised I wanted to write novels when my children were small. I enjoy dancing and am part of a disco formation dance team. I think adulting sucks and have decided life is too short for housework.

What inspired you to start writing?

My friend encouraged me after we’d been playing about by writing a chapter for fun and I got hooked. I started writing short stories but knew my heart was in longer novel-length books and she told me to stop prevaricating and write one. My older sister was published at the time, and when I started in earnest, she was a fantastic support.

How many books have you written and published?

I’ve written eight full-length novels: three have been published, three will never see the light of day, and two are with my agent.

Which book, out of all the books you have written, is your favourite and why?

Like most authors, my most recent book is always my favourite. Partly because I think my writing gets better over time, and partly because it’s new and exciting. So, in my case, it is The Secrets of Hawthorn Place – and I really do love Percy and Violet’s story in this book. Next year, fickle me will say it is my new book.

How do you choose the names of your characters?

Sometimes a character tells me their name from the start, but with others it’s more tricky. I consult lists of popular names for the year each character was born, so that I don’t accidentally choose a name not of that era. I also try to make sure people in the book don’t have similar names, like Mike and Mark, as this will confuse readers. Largely, unless it’s important for the plot (like Molly’s name in Hawthorn Place) I’m not precious about them, as publishers sometimes ask for them to be changed. For example, they wanted an alliterative name for Maisie Meadows (in The Unlikely Life of Maisie Meadows), so I changed my main character’s name completely. Random name generators can be useful when I’m really stuck.

Which of your characters would you want to be stranded on an island with, and why?

Probably my Victorian architect, Percy, from The Secrets of Hawthorn Place because he is such an unassuming and gentle man, but also funny and very intelligent. Plus, he could design us a fantastic house from palm trees and bits of driftwood. Haha.

Who is your favourite author and which of their books is your favourite, and why?

This changes over time, and depending on the genre. I think Harlan Coben and Lee Child are both masters of a good thriller, with real page-turning writing. Agatha Christie came up with some of the most fabulous plots of all time. And Jane Austen’s writing is simply sublime… The truth is, it’s like asking me to pick a favourite child. Plus, I keep discovering fantastic new writers all the time.

What is the first thing you can remember writing?

An illustrated book about a milkman whose milk float broke down. The twist was he’d forgotten to put petrol in, and I was really pleased with my story until my dad told me that milk floats were electric. I charged my dad 5p for the book, so it was also my first book sale.

What other jobs have you done other than being an author?

My first job was at W.H.Smith but sadly not in the book department. Then I was a children’s nanny. Then several years in contract flooring – more fun than it sounds – before pausing to have a litter of children.

If you could get in a time machine and had one chance to travel, where would you go? (Backwards or forwards!)

At the moment, I’d love to go back to the roaring twenties and visit a nightclub. After the horrors of the Great War, there was a whole generation determined to live for the here and now, and women were finally finding their voice. Interesting times. I could show off my Charleston moves (I belong to a dance group) and do some great research for my latest book at the same time.

If you could have one conversation with anyone, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

Ooo, I’d love to have a good old chinwag with Agatha Christie. I’d like to talk books and plots, but also pick her brains about life in the earlier part of last century. Plus, I’d love to know the truth about her disappearance in 1926.

What are your favourite things to do?

My idea of a perfect day would be chilling in my garden with family and friends, eating good food (which must involve cheese) and drinking wine in the sunshine, perhaps finishing the evening off watching a good romance on Netflix. I’m very easily pleased.

What is the strangest thing that has ever happened to you?

I guess being told by one of my slightly psychic dotty great aunts when I was little that I would have twins – and I did. Sadly, she didn’t live to see her prophecy come true.

If you could give your younger writing self any advice what would it be?

I’d tell her to crack on with those historicals and not be scared that she’s not good enough. Younger me was always pretty realistic about the industry, so there were no surprises there.

Name one book you think everyone should read?!

Hmmm… George Orwell’s 1984 might be a good choice, but a scary one. I do feel our world is heading this way and his dystopian vision is a salutary reminder of that. Big Brother really is watching…

And finally, tell us about your most recent book and where we can find it?

The Secrets of Hawthorn Place is out in eBook and paperback on 14th October. It’s a dual timeline about the Victorian architect, Percy Gladwell, designing a house for a woman he loves but knows can never be his. In the contemporary timeline, Molly Butterfield visits her grieving granddad in Dorset, only to stumble across Percy’s strange and rather magical past, which has ripples in her own life that she could never have foreseen.

It is available on Amazon https://bit.ly/HawthornSecrets

Also, Kobo and Apple have the ebook, and you can order the paperback from all good bookshops, or even request it at your local library – authors really love it when readers pull their books into libraries.

Where to find Jenni online: Facebook ~ Twitter | @JenniKeer ~ Instagram | @jennikeer

uk giveaway

Win a Signed copy of the Secrets of Hawthorn Place, plus chocolate and a sparkly pen

*Terms and Conditions –UK entries welcome.  Please enter using the link below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

ENTER HERE

follow the tour

Thanks to Rachel for inviting me on to the tour and to Jenni for coming and chatting with us!

Back soon lovelies.

Chelle x

One Reply to “Blog Tour Author Q&A: The Secrets of Hawthorn Place by Jenni Keer @JenniKeer @rararesources”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *