Today I’m also on the blog tour for Treble Clef by Malcolm Hollingdrake, which is book number 8 in The Harrogate Crime Stories…..

the blurb

Harrogate attracts hundreds of players to the annual Games Convention and for one player it is the perfect opportunity to kill by the mechanics of his own sinister game.

Each victim will die in the same way. Each will be classed as the loser and their time will have run out. The escape room and the game table will draw more, each believing they are invincible.

However, in every game there is always a traitor waiting in the wings.

The latest in the bestselling Harrogate Crime Series– discover your next favourite crime series now.

Treble Clef is available at Amazon:

The Harrogate Crime Series:
#1 Only the Dead –
#2 Hell’s Gate – 
#3 Flesh Evidence – 
#4 Game Point  
#5 Dying Art  –
#6 Crossed Out –
#7 The Third Breath  – .

my review

This is my first time reading one of The Harrogate Crime Series so was unfamiliar with the characters or previous storylines but this didn’t deter from the story!

In Harrogate there is a gaming convention taking place…..harmless fun until a body turns up.  DCI Cyril Bennett and his team start investigating….but then another body is discovered.  Both are gamers and both murdered in the same way.  But why?  What are they involved in?

Bennett’s team discover that, not only are these people interested in games but escape rooms…..Is this how they are linked? Is it a competitive murder…..or something more sinister?

I really enjoyed the storyline of this book, especially since I’ve done an escape room myself (but luckily didn’t end up murdered!).  The plot has quite a few twists and turns, and unravels nicely, coming to a satisfying end.

Having not read the previous stories, it did take me a bit longer to get used to some of the main characters.  There are some snippets in to their past (especially the main character – Cyril) but I’m one of these people that like to read a series so would have preferred to have started from book 1 (the dream!).  But once I got to know them, I loved them! There are quite a few team members and I did find it quite confusing trying to remember who was who.  But again, the more I got into it the easier it became.

Overall this was a great read, and one day I’d definitely like to go back and read the others in the series.  I’m looking forward to the next book from Malcolm….especially because there was a bit of a cliffhanger!!  If you enjoy a crime novel, then you should definitely check these out….especially with this twisty, turny and exciting storyline.



about the author

You could say that the writing was clearly on the wall for someone born in a library that they might aspire to be an author, but to get to that point Malcolm Hollingdrake has travelled a circuitous route.

Malcolm worked in education for many years, even teaching for a period in Cairo before he started writing, a challenge he had longed to tackle for more years than he cares to remember.

He has written a number of successful short stories, has nine books now available and is presently writing the eighth crime novel set in Harrogate, North Yorkshire.

Born in Bradford and spending three years at Ripon College, Malcolm has never lost his love for his home county, a passion that is reflected in the settings for all the DCI Bennett novels.

Currently, Malcolm is writing a new series which is set in Merseyside.

Malcolm has enjoyed many hobbies including collecting works by Northern artists; the art auctions offer a degree of excitement when both buying and certainly when selling. It is a hobby he has bestowed upon DCI Cyril Bennett, the main character in his successful Bennett series.

Where to find Malcolm online: Website ~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ GoodReads ~ Amazon

tour hosted by

Bits About Books

Thank you to Caroline for inviting me on to the tour, and to Malcolm and the publisher for providing me with a copy of the book in return for an honest review.  All views are my own and are unbiased.

Have a great rest of the weekend all, and enjoy your Sunday!

Thanks for reading!

Chelle x

One Reply to “Blog Tour & Review: Treble Clef by Malcolm Hollingdrake”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *