Good afternoon my lovelies.  Today I’m so happy to be on the blog tour for Under the Mistletoe by the fabulous Sue Moorcroft, a wonderful, heartwarming and cosy festive romance….

about the book

Title: Under the Mistletoe
Author: Sue Moorcroft
Genre: Commercial fiction, romantic fiction, chick lit, women’s fiction
Series/Standalone: Standalone
Estimated page count: 370
Formats available: Paperback, Audiobook and eBook
Publisher: Avon (28 Oct. 2021)
Rating: 
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Tour organised by: Rachel’s Random Resources

Christmas. A time for family, friends – and rekindling old flames…

When Laurel returns to the village of Middledip, she’s looking for a quiet life. Adjusting to her recent divorce, she’s ready to spend some time getting back on her feet amidst the glorious snow-dusted countryside.

Yet, life in Middledip is far from straightforward. Coming to the aid of her sister, Rea, as she navigates her own troubles, Laurel barely has a moment to think about where her own life is going.

However, time stands still when she sees her old flame, Grady Cassidy – and it’s soon as if they’ve never been apart. But through her happiness, Laurel remembers why she left the village all those years ago, as she recalls a dark night and Grady’s once-wayward brother, Mac…

Can Laurel learn to forgive and forget? Or will her chances of Christmas under the mistletoe with Grady remain a dream?

An enchanting, festive read, perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan and Carole Matthews.

Purchase Links: Amazon UK ~ Amazon US ~ Bookshop.org ~ WH Smith ~ Kobo ~ Apple Books ~ Audible

my thoughts

Laurel is returning to her home village of Middledip.  She’s recently divorced, and her sister is struggling with her own problems so she wants to be there for her and her niece.  Anticipating a quiet life, with her art studio in the back garden, things couldn’t be further from the truth….  Years ago she left the village because of a traumatic event and now, with some of the culprits still around, she has to face up to it all over again.  But what she also didn’t anticipate, was a reconnection with her old boyfriend Grady.  She settles in to life with her family, but can she overcome the things that are still haunting her? Will her and Grady be able to pick up where they left off? Or are the ghosts of the past going to get in the way of Laurel living her happy ever after?

This is a wonderful, festive romance that will warm your heart.  There are some wonderful characters in this, as well as some exasperating ones too!  Laurel was lovely and really wants to be there for her family, but with her own issues and with the ghosts of her past haunting her, she struggles.  Grady was definitely one of my favourites and I feel like he has the patience of a saint! I understand what Laurel was going through but at times I wanted to give her a little kick to let her see what she was doing!  Daisy is a wonderful young character, and brings a breath of fresh air to the story.  There are so many characters who have their own individual struggles and it’s heartwarming to see them each overcome them – some are bigger battles than other.  I was super proud of the way some of them dealt with their problems.  I also couldn’t believe the audacity of a couple of them!

The setting is fabulous.  A proper snowy and cosy festive village.  I love that there is so much Christmas in this – the build up, craft fairs, decorations and twinkly lights.  It’s most certainly put me in a full on Christmassy mood (I was even singing Christmas songs at one point!).  The descriptions really bring the village to life and I could literally hear and feel the crisp snow crunching under each step the characters took.

The storyline covers a number of issues – particularly bullying, trauma and agoraphobia.  Sue has most definitely done her research and it comes across in the narrative.  The way the respective characters deal with their issues is truly heartwarming and will definitely get you thinking.

Although personally I’m not very crafty (my sister stole all the creative genes!), I really enjoyed all the art and craft aspects to this story.  I learned quite a bit and enjoyed being with the characters are they made their wares and put brush to canvas.

So if you’re looking for a wonderful, heartwarming festive romance, where you genuinely won’t have a clue if they’ll actually end up together, set in a festive and cosy village with a fab storyline, then this is for you.  Highly recommended by me.

about the author

Sue Moorcroft is a Sunday Times bestselling author and has reached the coveted #1 spot on Amazon Kindle UK as well as top 100 in the US. She’s won the Goldsboro Books Contemporary Romantic Novel Award, Readers’ Best Romantic Novel award and the Katie Fforde Bursary. Sue’s emotionally compelling, feel-good novels are currently released by publishing giant HarperCollins in the UK, US and Canada and by other publishers around the world. She’s also well known for short stories, serials, columns, writing ‘how to’ and courses.

Born in Germany into an army family, Sue spent much of her childhood in Cyprus and Malta but settled in Northamptonshire, England aged ten. She loves reading, Formula 1, travel, time spent with friends, dance exercise and yoga.

Where to find Sue online: Website ~ Blog ~ Facebook ~ FB Author Page ~ Twitter ~ Instagram ~ LinkedIn

follow the tour

Thanks to Rachel for inviting me on to the tour.  I was also lucky enough to be gifted a copy of the book directly from the publishers, so thank you to Avon and Sue for my copy. All views and opinions are my own.

Have a wonderful day lovelies

Chelle x

One Reply to “REVIEW: Under the Mistletoe by Sue Moorcroft @suemoorcroft @AvonBooksUK @rararesources”

  1. Thank you so much for this enthusiastic and thoughtful review, Chelle. I’m absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed Under the Mistletoe so much. Thanks, also, for joining the blog tour. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *